Celebrating the future of sustainable architecture

Posted on Apr 30, 2021

H2o Director Mark O’Dwyer was honoured to be selected as a juror for the Victorian Architecture Awards 2021 in the Sustainable Architecture category recently.

With renewed global attention on the critical importance of accelerating sustainable architecture and building practices, Mark and his fellow jurors, Ben Milbourne (chair, Common/RMIT) and Elizabeth Campbell (Kennedy Nolan), had the pleasure of delving into the latest sustainable designs and innovations across the state.

As a jury member, Mark draws on H2o’s track record in pioneering sustainable design and expertise in adaptive reuse projects. Notable H2o projects include the Advanced Technology Centre at Swinburne University, the first education building in Australia awarded a 5 Star Green Building Council of Australia rating; Australia’s largest research greenhouse, the highly specialised Plant Accelerator at the University of Adelaide; and Albert Park’s Lakeside Stadium, with the restoration of its 1926 heritage grandstand.

Committed to sustainable design that is practical and affordable, H2o Architects strive to reduce the impact of architecture on the environment. The Australian Institute of Architects’ Awards program provides an important platform for knowledge-sharing and leadership, encouraging all practices on the road towards a more sustainable future.

The 2021 Victorian Architecture Awards shortlist has now been released, with winners due to be announced in June.
Pictured: H2o Director and Co-founder, Mark O’Dwyer. A recognised leader in sustainable design, Mark regularly shares his knowledge through award programs, seminars and study tours.